On Last Day Of Filing, Park City Council Race Set For A Primary

Jun 7, 2019

The filing period for municipal elections across Utah ended Friday at 5 p.m. A number of city council seats in Summit and Wasatch Counties are open for election.

In Summit County, Park City, Kamas, Coalville and Oakley have three council seats open for four-year terms. Additionally, Oakley has one two-year seat up for election. Francis has two council seats available for four-year terms.

By Friday at 5:30 p.m., Ed Parigian had declared his candidacy for Park City Council.

Earlier in the week, Park City Councilmembers Becca Gerber and Nann Worel filed for re-election. Deanna Rhodes, Daniel Lewis, Chadwick Fairbanks and Max Doilney declared their candidacies for Park City Council. Because there are more than six candidates for three open seats, a primary election will happen in August to eliminate one candidate, before the general election in November.

Kevan Todd and John Blazzard filed for Kamas City Council, joining Amy Yost, Nate Miles and Monica Blazzard.

Current Francis City Councilmembers Jeremie Forman and Matt Crittenden filed for re-election this week as well.

In Wasatch County, Heber and Midway both have three council seats open for four-year terms. Charleston has two council seats open, and Wallsburg has two city council seats, as well as the mayor’s, available.

On Friday, Wallsburg Mayor Celeni Richins and current Councilmember Clint Allen filed for re-election. Justin Carlie also filed for council.

Nick Lopez filed for Heber City Council, joining current Councilmembers Ron Crittenden and Jeff Bradshaw. Perry Rose, Rachel Kahler, Brady Flygare, Ryan Stack, and Mike Johnston also declared their candidacies for Heber City Council this week.

Kevin Payne filed Friday for Midway City Council, joining current City Councilmembers Lisa Kohler Orme and Bob Probst as well as Steve Dougherty.

Brent Broadhead also declared his candidacy for Charleston Town Council.

The 2019 municipal general election is November 5.