© 2023 KPCW

Spencer F. Eccles Broadcast Center
PO Box 1372 | 460 Swede Alley
Park City | UT | 84060
Office: (435) 649-9004 | Studio: (435) 655-8255

Music & Artist Inquiries: music@kpcw.org
News Tips & Press Releases: news@kpcw.org
Volunteer Opportunities
General Inquiries: info@kpcw.org
Listen Like a Local Park City & Heber City Summit & Wasatch counties, Utah
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
0000017b-652b-d50a-a3ff-f7efaf8b0000Election Day - Tuesday, November 8, 2016

Summit County 2016 Election Results

In an historic voter turnout, Summit County voters went to the polls and elected two new county council members, approved two tax increases and two new state representatives. 

In the battle between east and west side planning commissioners, the democrat from Oakley and a member of the east side planning commission Doug Clyde was elected to serve on the Summit County Council Seat B – replacing council member Claudia McMullin who didn’t run for reelection.

Based on the unofficial results, Clyde defeated Snyderville Planning Commissioner Colin DeFord with 93-hundred votes compared to DeFord’s 7,855 – a 54 to 46% split.

For Summit County council Seat E, newcomer democrat Glenn Wright, a Park City resident, ousted incumbent Republican Tal Adair, an east side resident, who had been appointed to the seat after David Ure resigned. Wright finished with 53 percent of the vote, or 9,094 votes compared to Adair’s 8122 votes or 47%.

Incumbents Roger Armstrong and Kim Carson ran unopposed and will serve another 4 year term.

County voters overwhelming approved the two transportation proposals on the ballot, known as Prop 9 and 10.

Together the measures increase the sales tax by a half of percent and will raise about 8.2 million dollars a year for transit expansion and road improvement projects.

Prop 9 which supports transit expansion with 69% of the vote and Prop 10 in support of road improvements was approved with 77 percent of the vote.  

Voters in the North Summit Special recreation district however overwhelming turned town a property tax increase.  In a more than two to one margin, 1526 voted against the tax. 705 were in favor. If approved, a house with a taxable value of $115-thousand, would pay an additional $25 a year in property taxes to fund expanded recreation programs. 

Looking at the Park City school board races, Andrew Caplan and Petra Butler will join incumbent Phil Kaplan on the board, who ran unopposed.

Andrew Caplan finished with 1118 votes compared to Peter Yogman’s 874.  Petra Butler won with 1142 votes compared to former board member Moe Hickey’s 997.

In the South Summit school board race, candidates Suni Woolstenhulme and Dan Eckert were elected to serve four year terms.

For the Utah state legislature, Morgan republican Logan Wilde won with 62 percent of the vote over Park City democrat Cole Capener. Wilde received 8007 votes compared to Capener’s 4915.

In one of the closes races for house district 54, republican Tim Quinn was victorious with 53 percent of the vote compared to Rudi Kohler’s 47 percent. Quinn won with 9,180 votes compared to Kohler’s 8274.