© 2024 KPCW

Spencer F. Eccles Broadcast Center
PO Box 1372 | 460 Swede Alley
Park City | UT | 84060
Office: (435) 649-9004 | Studio: (435) 655-8255

Music & Artist Inquiries: music@kpcw.org
News Tips & Press Releases: news@kpcw.org
Volunteer Opportunities
General Inquiries: info@kpcw.org
Listen Like a Local Park City & Heber City Summit & Wasatch counties, Utah
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Candidates File To Represent Summit County


With the filing window for Utah’s 2020 elections closing on Thursday, there isn’t much drama from the field of candidates who appeared to run in Summit County.

But at least two incumbents— a Summit County Council Member, and a Utah House Representative from the Wasatch back—find they’re being challenged within their own party.

Within Summit County government, there are six positions on the ballot, including three seats on the County Council.

Roger Armstrong, holding Seat A, is seeking re-election to his third term.    On Thursday, a challenger filed against him, Pinebrook resident Jill Fellow.

On her Facebook page, Fellow says she is an advocate of diversity and inclusion and she added the county needs to include different perspectives to address the issues of development, transportation, affordable housing and equity.

County Council Seat “B” is held by Doug Clyde, who did not draw a challenger.

Seat “C” is open, since incumbent Kim Carson announced her retirement.    There are two contenders for the position—Canice Harte and Malena Stevens, residents of the Park City area who serve side by side on the Snyderville Planning Commission.

Three other incumbents at the Coalville Courthouse filed to run for another term, and  have no challengers.   They are County Assessor Stephanie Larsen, County Recorder Rhonda Francis, and County Treasurer Corrie Forsling.

All of those candidates are Democrats.

Looking at state-wide offices, three members of the Utah House represent portions of Summit County.     Incumbent Morgan County Republican Logan Wilde is seeking re-election for District 53, but he’s drawn three challengers.

There are two GOP challengers—Tal Adair, a resident of Francis in Summit County and a former Summit Council Member; and Kera Birkeland, a Morgan County resident who’s been active in the state Republican Party.

Also seeking that position is Cheryl Butler, former chair of the Summit County Democratic Party.

For House District #28, which includes a portion of Snyderville, incumbent Democrat Brian King filed for re-election.    He’s challenged by a Salt Lake Republican, Carol Hunter.

In Senate District #19, incumbent Allen Christensen announced his retirement.     Three Republicans are running for the seat—Johnny Ferry, John Johnson and Denver Lough—along with a Democrat, Snyderville resident Katy Owens.

Looking at the Park City School Board, the three incumbents filed for another term and brought out no challengers.    They are Anne Peters for District 1, Andrew Caplan for District 2, and Wendy Crossland for District 3.

The School Board races on the East Side are somewhat more competitive.  

In the North Summit School District, incumbents Susan Richins for District 1, and Waylon Bond for District 2 have no challengers.   For District 3, there is a contest between Shane Robertson and Clark Staley.

Looking at the South Summit School Board, Wade Woolstenhulme is running against Wendy Radke for District 1.    In District 2, incumbent Dan Eckert is being challenged by Mark Mataya and David Darcey.    And in District 3, the contenders are Lynda Whitmore and Dustin Hatch.

Known for getting all the facts right, as well as his distinctive sign-off, Rick covered Summit County meetings and issues for 35 years on KPCW. He now heads the Friday Film Review team.
Related Content