© 2023 KPCW

Spencer F. Eccles Broadcast Center
PO Box 1372 | 460 Swede Alley
Park City | UT | 84060
Office: (435) 649-9004 | Studio: (435) 655-8255

Music & Artist Inquiries: music@kpcw.org
News Tips & Press Releases: news@kpcw.org
Volunteer Opportunities
General Inquiries: info@kpcw.org
Listen Like a Local Park City & Heber City Summit & Wasatch counties, Utah
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Harte and Stevens Headed to Primary

Summit County Democrats Thursday night decided one of two contested county council races.  The other race will go to a primary in June.

The convention was held remotely.  Ballots were emailed to 104 delegates Thursday.  100% of the delegates participated.

For Seat A, delegates nominated incumbent council member Roger Armstrong to another four years. He defeated newcomer Jill Fellow with more than 89% of the vote.  Since no Republicans filed to run, Armstrong will hold the seat for another four years.

The candidates for Seat C, Canice Harte and Melena Stevens, will face off in a primary June 30 since neither one got 60% of the vote.  Harte received nearly 54 %, and Stevens received 46%.  No Republicans filed to run for this seat either, so the winner of the primary will serve the next four years. Both candidates appeared on KPCW's Local News Hour with Leslie Thatcher before the convention.  You can hear that interview here.

For seat B, incumbent Doug Clyde will serve another four years since no one filed to run against him. The same is true for County Recorder, Rhonda Francis, County Treasurer, Corrie Forsling and County Assessor, Stephanie Larson.

The state delegate list was also approved by the delegate vote and it can be found on scdems.org.

Related Content