Monday COVID-19 Update: Gov. Cox Denounces Violence Over Mask Requirements, State Sees 173 New Cases
The statewide mask mandate ended on April 10. Summit and Wasatch Counties aren’t extended a limited order for face coverings.
A statement from Summit County thanked the public for their compliance and also said the “current outlook is a result of your diligent efforts and sacrifices.” County officials asked that residents respect any private companies that continue to enforce masks.
Utah Gov. Spencer Cox issued a statement Monday about backlash to mandates in businesses. He said his office “strongly condemns the threats of violence made against employees and businesses requiring patrons to wear masks. Individuals who make such threats will be prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law.”
With the mandate ending, the Utah Department of Health announced 185 new COVID-19 cases Monday, which is about 10 more cases than the state saw at the same time last week. The 7-day rolling average for new cases is 398 per day.
In the Wasatch Back, both Summit and Wasatch Counties didn’t see any change in cases week over week.
Summit County reported four new cases. Wasatch County reported no new cases.
There were 2,519 people tested for the first time statewide, with 4,813 total tests administered. On average just under 4% of “tests over tests” are coming back positive, while the average percent positivity for “people over people” is around 7%.
Utah’s Department of Health reported no new death. To date, 2,159 Utahns have died due to COVID-19, including 11 from Summit County and 21 from Wasatch County.
The department also reported 10 new hospitalizations. There are 122 people in the hospital for COVID-19, in the state. Around 70% of all referral center ICU beds are in use.
There were 4,937 people vaccinated for COVID-19 since Sunday, bringing the total number to 1,708,002 doses administered.
Summit County has administered 36,027 total vaccines and Wasatch has given out 18,419 doses. Both counties are registering to vaccinate residents 16 years or older.