Summit And Wasatch County Residents Declare Candidacy For City Councils

Jun 4, 2019


The filing period for municipal elections across Utah started Monday and runs through this Friday, June 7. A number of city council seats in Summit and Wasatch Counties are open for election. 

In Summit County, Park City, Kamas, Coalville and Oakley have three council seats open for four-year terms. Additionally, Oakley has one two-year seat up for election. Francis has two council seats available for four-year terms.

By end of day Tuesday, current Francis City Councilmembers Jeremie Forman and Matt Crittenden had filed for re-election. On Monday, Park City Councilmembers Becca Gerber and Nann Worel declared their candidacy for re-election; Max Doilney, Daniel Lewis and Chadwick Fairbanks also filed for Park City Council. Monica Blazzard filed for Kamas City Council.

In Wasatch County, Heber and Midway both have three council seats open for four-year terms. Charleston has two council seats open.

On Tuesday, Brady Flygare filed for Heber City Council, joining current Heber City Councilmember Jeff Bradshaw, who filed for re-election on Monday, as well as Rachel Kahler, Ryan Stack and Mike Johnston.

Midway Councilmember Bob Probst filed for re-election, and Brent Broadhead declared his candidacy for Charleston Town Council.

The filing deadline for Park City, Heber and Midway Councils is 5 p.m. Friday. Others vary in accordance with each city office’s normal business hours. Those interested in running can find information about eligibility requirements at each municipality’s website.