© 2023 KPCW

Spencer F. Eccles Broadcast Center
PO Box 1372 | 460 Swede Alley
Park City | UT | 84060
Office: (435) 649-9004 | Studio: (435) 655-8255

Music & Artist Inquiries: music@kpcw.org
News Tips & Press Releases: news@kpcw.org
Volunteer Opportunities
General Inquiries: info@kpcw.org
Listen Like a Local Park City & Heber City Summit & Wasatch counties, Utah
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Elections in Daniel, Charleston, Hideout and Wallsburg get first results

Ben Lasseter

Unofficial election results in Wasatch County suggested there’ll be new and familiar faces in government to represent Midway, Daniel, Hideout, Charleston, Wallsburg, Independence and Interlaken.

Preliminary results released Tuesday night included ballots the Wasatch County clerk’s office had received by 8 p.m. With 44 provisional ballots yet to be verified and counted and more mailed ballots expected to arrive in the days to come, some races remain too close to call. All counts are unofficial until verified in the canvassing process, which is expected to take a couple of weeks.

With exactly 200 votes and 58%, Daniel mayoral candidate Scott Kohler took a lead over Michael Duggin, who received 42% at 143 votes.

Four candidates ran for two seats on Daniel Town Council, and Jonathan Blotter led with 228 votes (36%). Robyn Pearson’s 184 votes (29%) put her in second for the night, followed closely by Stefanie Grady with 160 (25%). John Gladowsky received 58 votes (9%).

In Charleston, Brenda Kozlowski received 123 votes, giving her a lead with 61% over David Hendricksen’s 80 at 39%.

There were also four candidates vying for two seats on Charleston Town Council in a tight contest. Scott Solum got 117 votes (31%), and Marc Mair had 91 (24%) Tuesday night. Joseph Howels received 85 (23%), and Joseph Graham 84 (22%).

Incumbent Hideout Mayor Phil Rubin was re-elected by default after his challenger withdrew.

For Hideout Town Council, there were two separate races for four council seats, so all candidates will be seated in the uncontested race.

Running for two seats on Wallsburg Town Council, Terri Eisel and Scott Larsen had commanding leads over Eric Andersen, each of the former with over 40% compared to Andersen’s 17%. Eisel had 76 votes, Larsen had 71, and Andersen 30.

Candidates for office in Midway and Interlaken ran unopposed.

In Midway, Mayor Celeste Johnson will begin a second term, as will incumbents Jeffrey Drury and J.C. Simonsen on city council.

In the town of Independence, incumbent Mayor Phil Sweat and incumbent councilors Bill Duke and Rose Heaton were all unopposed and will start new terms in their positions.

Interlaken Mayor Greg Harriman will have a third term. Newcomer Chuck Cullom had no competition for Marge Bowen’s vacated seat, and Sue O’nan will serve a third term on town council.

Wasatch County released unofficial results at 11 p.m.

Out of 19,902 registered voters, the clerk’s office received 7,675 ballots, a 39% turnout overall in the county. Those included ballots sent to voters in Heber City and regions of the county without government elections. All voters in the county had the opportunity to vote for a recreation, arts and parks tax.

Corrected: November 3, 2021 at 12:06 PM MDT
An earlier version of this report incorrectly listed the number of seats open for Hideout Town Council.
Related Content