© 2024 KPCW

Spencer F. Eccles Broadcast Center
PO Box 1372 | 460 Swede Alley
Park City | UT | 84060
Office: (435) 649-9004 | Studio: (435) 655-8255

Music & Artist Inquiries: music@kpcw.org
News Tips & Press Releases: news@kpcw.org
Volunteer Opportunities
General Inquiries: info@kpcw.org
Listen Like a Local Park City & Heber City Summit & Wasatch counties, Utah
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Last Day To File For Municipal Office

The filing period for municipal elections across Utah ends today at 5 p.m. A number of mayoral and city council seats in Summit and Wasatch Counties are open for election.

Summit County’s six municipalities will hold elections for mayor and at least two council seats this fall – which include Park City, Kamas, Coalville, Francis, Henefer, and Oakley.

In addition to the municipal seats, there are special service positions that will be on the ballot, including for the Snyderville Basin Water Reclamation Board, Service Area Three, and the South Summit Fire District.

In Wasatch County, both Heber City and Midway will hold elections for mayor and open council seats. Other communities also holding elections include Hideout, Charleston, Independence, Daniel, Interlaken, and Wallsburg.

If more than two people file for the same seat, a primary runoff will be held Tuesday, August 10.

Heber City is the only entity using ranked choice voting – which eliminates a primary. The filing period for Heber City candidates is Tuesday, August 10th through Tuesday August 17th.

Registered voters will receive a ballot in the mail.

Candidates must be residents of the town for the past 12 months, a U.S. citizen, and a registered voter to run for office.

The filing deadline is 5 p.m. today. Those interested in running can find information about eligibility requirements at each municipality’s website.