© 2024 KPCW

Spencer F. Eccles Broadcast Center
PO Box 1372 | 460 Swede Alley
Park City | UT | 84060
Office: (435) 649-9004 | Studio: (435) 655-8255

Music & Artist Inquiries: music@kpcw.org
News Tips & Press Releases: news@kpcw.org
Volunteer Opportunities
General Inquiries: info@kpcw.org
Listen Like a Local Park City & Heber City Summit & Wasatch counties, Utah
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Park City
Everything to do inside of Park City proper.

Packed Candidate Fields Point to Busy Election Year for Summit County Municipalities

Ken Lund on Flickr

Election season is officially underway as the candidate filing window has closed for municipal elections in Summit County. 


One of the biggest candidate turnouts was in Coalville, where 11 total candidates filed to run in the mayoral and city council races.


Three candidates have filed to replace outgoing Coalville mayor Trever Johnson: City councilor Tyler Rowser, Mark Marsh, and Lynn Wood, a resident who is known for her vocal opposition to the Wohali development. 


Eight candidates are vying for two open city council seats: Stefanie Bowen, Brandon Brady, Christopher Horne, Kelly Ovard, Steven B. Richins, Gibeon Robbins, Drew Robinson and Louise Willoughby. 


Oakley, meanwhile, has seven city council candidates: Betty Ann Heck, Kelly Kimber, Marissa Dillman, Jane Sorensen Lewis, Erik Woolstenhulme, Clayton Page and Steve Wilmouth. There are two candidates for mayor: Zane Woolstenhulme and Joe B. Frazier.


In Kamas, Mayor Matt McCormick is running unopposed for a second term. There will be a contest for city council seats with Jessica Allen Bateman, David W. Darcey, Kandilee Sauter and Natalie Ruth Souza filing for candidacy.


Francis reports it will not have an election this year because just one candidate filed for each open seat. Jan Brussel has filed for mayor; Shana Fryer and Clayton Wilson Querry have filed to run for council


Park City is looking to host an energetic primary for both the city council and mayoral races. Three nonpartisan candidates are running for mayor: incumbent Andy Beerman, council member Nann Worel and David Dobkin.


Eight residents have filed for Park City Council, including two who filed on Monday: Old Town resident Jamison Brandi and Park City Heights resident John Greenfield. They join incumbent councilor Tim Henney as well as Thomas C. Purcell, Jeremy Rubell, Michael J. Franchek, Daniel Lewis and Tana Toly.


The primary election will be held Tuesday, Aug. 10. The general election is set for Nov. 2. To register to vote or update your ballot mailing address, visit vote.utah.gov.

Related Content