It's Time For 2020 Utah Candidates To Throw Their Hats In The Ring

Mar 13, 2020

The filing window for national, state and local races in Utah for  election year 2020 opens on Friday, March 13th.    The filing period runs until 5 p.m. on Thursday March 19th.


In Summit County, three seats on the County Council are on this year’s ballot.   Seat C is currently held by Kim Carson, who has said she isn’t running for re-election.     The other two Council Members, Doug Clyde in Seat B and Roger Armstrong in seat A, have said they are seeking another  term.

Also on the ballot are the offices of County Assessor, now held by Stephanie Larsen; County Recorder, held by Rhonda Francis, and County Treasurer.   The incumbent there is Corrie Forsling.

All those county offices are for four-year terms.

All of Summit County’s school boards have Seats 1, 2 and 3 on the ballot this year.    For the Park City District, the incumbents are Anne Peters for District 1; Board President Andrew Caplan for District 2; and Wendy Crossland for District 3.   

In the South Summit District, the incumbents are Suni Woolstenhulme, Dan Eckert and Jim Snyder.    For North Summit, the seats are held by Susan F. Richins, Waylon Bond and Heather Staley.

In Wasatch County, four seats on the County Council are on the ballot.   Those positions are held by Steve Farrell, in the at-large “B” seat; Kendall Crittenden for Heber South; Mark Nelson in the Midway seat; and Spencer Park for County South.

Other county offices are the Assessor, now held by Maureen “Buff” Griffiths; the Recorder, which is now Peggy Sulser; the Surveyor, James Kaiserman; and Treasurer, Karl McDonald.

All of those offices have four-year terms.

The county clerk/auditor seat, now occupied by Cal Griffiths is up for a two-year term.    Griffiths was appointed by the county Republicans after the death of Brent Titcomb.

For the Wasatch County school board, the seats on the ballot are held by incumbents Blaik Baird; Mark Davis and Tom Hansen.

Looking at state legislative seats on the Wasatch Back, Senate District #19, now held by Allen Christensen, is on the ballot; as well as House District #53, now represented by Logan Wilde; #54, held by Tim Quinn; and #28, Brian King.

For Utah’s seats in Congress, Summit County is included in District #1, where incumbent Rob Bishop has said he won’t seek re-election; and Wasatch County is in District #3, represented by John Curtis.

The state offices on the ballot include the Governor and Lt. Governor; Attorney General, Auditor and Treasurer.