© 2022 KPCW

Spencer F. Eccles Broadcast Center
PO Box 1372 | 460 Swede Alley
Park City | UT | 84060
Office: (435) 649-9004 | Studio: (435) 655-8255

Music & Artist Inquiries: music@kpcw.org
News Tips & Press Releases: news@kpcw.org
Volunteer Opportunities
General Inquiries: info@kpcw.org
Listen Like a Local Park City & Heber City Summit & Wasatch counties, Utah
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Final results announced for Heber City, Wasatch County elections

wasatch county administration building
Ben Lasseter
The Wasatch County Council meets in the Wasatch County Administration Building at 25 North Main Street in Heber City.

Final results are in for Wasatch County elections. There were no reversals from preliminary totals on election night.

Monday’s official results are the first update from Wasatch County since election night.

Out of 19,902 registered voters, the clerk’s office received 7,789 ballots, a 39% turnout.

According to Wasatch County Clerk Joey Granger, anticipation was high for the final count.

“Every single day, we’ve had multiple people asking. That’s just kind of the nature of the game.”

Most callers wanted to know the recreation, arts and parks tax outcome. The new sales tax was defeated by a margin of eight votes out of 7,610.

Heber City

Unofficial results for races for mayor and two city council seats stood after the final count.

With 51% of voters’ support in a tight race, Councilwoman Heidi Franco will be the next mayor. On November 4, two days after the election, incumbent Mayor Kelleen Potter conceded to Franco.

Financial advisor Scott Phillips and Friends of Heber Valley nonprofit member Yvonne Barney were elected to their first terms on Heber City Council. They’ll succeed Franco and Wayne Hardman. Hardman finished third in voting, and Bryce Hoover fourth.

For the first time, Heber City used the ranked choice voting method, which lets voters support multiple candidates in order of preference. Phillips was the first preference on 40% of ballots, and Barney was first on 24%.

Heber’s voter turnout was 41%. City Hall received 3,372 ballots from 8,241 voters.


Voters in the town of Daniel elected Scott Kohler to be mayor. He received 58% votes over Michael Duggin. Kohler will replace Mayor Chip Turner, who served two terms.

Four candidates ran for two seats on Daniel Town Council. Jonathan Blotter won one seat with 36% of the vote, Robyn Pearson got the other with 29%.


In Charleston, incumbent Mayor Brenda Kozlowski defeated challenger David Hendricksen with 60% of votes.

The race between four candidates vying for two seats on Charleston Town Council was tight. Scott Solum pulled away with 31%, and Marc Mair claimed the second seat with 23.5%.

Mair received 91 votes to Joseph Graham’s 89, a difference of two votes. According to Utah state law, a candidate in an election with fewer than 400 voters may request a recount if the difference is one vote.


Running for two seats on Wallsburg Town Council, Terri Eisel and Scott Larsen were elected. Eisel received 43% of the vote, and Larsen got 40%.

Preliminary vote counts on election night didn’t include provisional ballots or ballots that hadn’t arrived in the mail yet. Provisional ballots, which were available for unregistered voters to vote on Election Day with identification and proof of residence, required an authentication process.

All results will be certified after canvassing by their respective cities and towns.

Ben Lasseter reports for KPCW in Wasatch County. Before moving to Heber City, Ben worked in Manti as a general assignment newspaper reporter and editor.
Related Content