© 2023 KPCW

Spencer F. Eccles Broadcast Center
PO Box 1372 | 460 Swede Alley
Park City | UT | 84060
Office: (435) 649-9004 | Studio: (435) 655-8255

Music & Artist Inquiries: music@kpcw.org
News Tips & Press Releases: news@kpcw.org
Volunteer Opportunities
General Inquiries: info@kpcw.org
Listen Like a Local Park City & Heber City Summit & Wasatch counties, Utah
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Incumbents cruise to reelection in Wasatch County school board, council elections

Bluth Holmes.jpg
Wasatch County School District
Wasatch County School District Board of Education Vice President Tyler Bluth (left) and member Cory Holmes

Wasatch County Council and school board incumbents won new terms after Tuesday’s election.

In the race for Heber South seat D, Wasatch County School District Board of Education Vice President Tyler Bluth was reelected with a margin of more than 1,000 votes over write-in totals. He’ll continue to represent a district of 4,074 people.

Board member Cory Holmes received support from 1,436 voters, also trouncing write-in votes against him. His Heber North seat D represents 3,358 people.

Holmes paid respects to Allen Throndson, who ran a write-in campaign for the seat, and said he looked forward to continuing his tenure.

“I respect the candidate that ran against me as a write-in. That's a tough, tough order. I applaud him for doing that. I am happy that I won and that I will be able to serve for another four years on the school board. I look forward to doing that and trying to help make good decisions.”

Both incumbents faced late write-in challengers who campaigned on promises to approve less spending by the school district.

Tamara Prewitt announced her campaign for Heber South seat D in September. Allen Throndson announced his campaign for the Heber North seat C in October.

After one Republican primary, which took place at the Wasatch County Convention in April, newcomer Republicans took all three seats up for election to the Wasatch County Council with no contest.

Luke Searle will take over the county at-large seat A on the county council. He defeated Mary Williams and Kim Facer in the primary.

Erik Rowland ran uncontested for council seat C, representing 4,074 voters in northern Heber City. Karl McMillan ran unopposed for seat F, which covers 4,542 voters in a large swath of eastern Wasatch County.

According to Wasatch County Clerk Joey Granger, the count includes 13,094 voters’ ballots out of a total of 20,700 active voters. That’s a 63% turnout. But, she said that doesn’t include hundreds of outstanding ballots that require further review, mostly ballots that included write-in candidates.

Ben Lasseter reports for KPCW in Wasatch County. Before moving to Heber City, Ben worked in Manti as a general assignment newspaper reporter and editor.
Related Content